delight yourself in Yahweh

psa 37 4

Blessed is the man who doesn’t walk in the counsel of the wicked, nor stand on the path of sinners, nor sit in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in Yahweh’s law. On his law he meditates day and night. He will be like a tree planted by the streams of water, that produces its fruit in its season, whose leaf also does not wither. Whatever he does shall prosper.

Psalms 1:1-3

I have been doing a little bit of scripture study in the first chapter of the Psalms. I’ve been reading over these three verses and honestly, I’ve never really looked any deeper into these verses than what they say on the surface. Now, reading them again, I’ve come to a realization: there’s more to our relationship with Yahweh than simply doing what He asks of us.

 

This chapter summarizes the life of a man blessed by Yahweh. Read the second verse in Psalms 1. It says,

 

“his delight is in Yahweh’s law. On his law he meditates days and night.”

 

Going back to Psalms 1, I’ve learned that this righteous man being written about, not only has kept himself pure from the way of sin, but he intentionally takes pleasure in Yahweh’s Word. He makes it his constant thought day in and day out. He doesn’t do this out of routine or obligation, he does it out of enjoyment and pleasure. He wants Yahweh to be a part of his  life on a daily basis; and no matter what he does throughout the day, He wants to be sure that Yahweh is a part of it.

Hand in hand with this verse, there is another verse in the Psalms that I think goes with what I’m talking about…Psalm 37:4….

Also delight yourself in Yahweh, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

 

By spending time in Yahweh’s word, meditating in it, and taking the time to talk to Yahweh sheds a whole new light on what a relationship with Him looks like. You see, He wants to bless us, but He can’t if we’re constantly doing our own thing while trying to keep a relationship going with Him. He has so many plans for us that are so much better than anything we could ever imagine for ourselves, and He knows what we will succeed in.

With that in mind…my job is not to figure out exactly what Yahweh is thinking, because that’s impossible. In fact, if my focus is trying to fit Yahweh into my plans, that doesn’t work either. It doesn’t matter what I want for my own life. Which is why surrendering my dreams and my life to Him is crucial in my walk with Him.

Maybe you have plans of your own that you’re excited about and so sure about that you want to throw yourself head first into them. I can relate. I feel that way ALL the time. Yet I’ve come to realize that this too will fail me in the end if it becomes my sole focus.

 

In my study of Psalms 1, I have learned that my relationship with Yahweh must come first in all things and honestly, I want to enjoy my time with Him, and I want to learn what He has envisioned for my life. But just because I want this, doesn’t mean that He will reveal to me every single thing He wants me to do all at once. There’s a ton of waiting involved and weightless amounts of time that I will have to spend seeking Him in order to find out His will, not to mention strengthening my trust in Him so I will stop worrying about what tomorrow will bring.

You may be at the beginning of this long journey with Yahweh, and the only thing I can tell you is that even when the mountains block your view, and temptation is constantly to your right and to your left, keep your eyes on Him. And even when it feels like His plans are far from “good”, focus on what He has promised you from the beginning, that He will be there for you through the thick and the thin. Count it all joy.

 

Delight yourself in Him and He will present you with the many blessings He has in store.

 

One thought on “delight yourself in Yahweh

  1. Good writing Miss Jenna!!  Keep up the excellent work!!  Also, in Psalm 1: maybe verse 1 or 1 through 3… it says something about what you think on, what you speak, and who you sit with… who you spend your time with. All three of these help us to be the person who we are, and who we are becoming.  If a person spends a lot of time thinking about, or saying words about anything… good or bad… it affects them greatly.  The people we spend time with influence us, and/or we influence them… with attitudes, preferences, etc.  For example, when we think of good and pleasant things, it helps us to be light hearted and joyful.  However, when we think of sad things, or feel sorry for ourself, it can tend to bring us low.  Everything we see and speak, affects what we think of and remember. If a person is living with joy and thankfulness, their thoughts are probably about good things and happiness for, and appreciation for things and people they have in their life, rather than wishing something were different.  On the other hand, if someone has evil thoughts continuously, they will probably end up saying evil things, and may even commit evil deeds, although not necessarily, because they may just think and say evil, without ever doing evil.  But none the less, it would tend to cause them to be very different than one who keeps the focus on good and pleasant things. Well, that is only a short bit of what I see in those first few verses of Psalm 1.  I think there is also a theory in Psychology, about what a person thinks about and talks about, will be similar to their actions.  Or, conversely, what a person does, is probably what they think about.  I not sure what all the psychologist have to say about the topic, but it is similar to these verses.  It can probably be found in wikipedia or somewhere. And, that if you have had a series of bad decisions, you can change things in your life, by making a series of good decisions.  And, you can influence your decisions, just by thinking of good and positive things, so that you will have a good outlook, and move in a good direction.

    My thoughts here may not cover the topic well enough, but may give you something to think about.  Anyway, you are such a good meditator and thinker, who can put it all together into great writings!!  Maybe you will think on that sometime, and use some of these thoughts to come up with another great writing for your blog!!

    Have a great weekend!!Shalom and love,Sharon

Leave a Comment

