uncharted.

prov 16 9

It was a cloudy Friday morning when my family and I set out on our journey to the Ozarks of Missouri. We were on our way to join our fellow brethren for the feast of Sukkot (Tabernacles).

Unlike previous years, where we actually had to write out our route and used a good ole’ map handy, we had a trusty GPS to guide our way to our destination instead. And while we were familiar with much of the landscape for most of the trip, there was a point in our travels when we found ourselves driving through unfamiliar territory somewhere in Oklahoma. It was different from what we were used to, and honestly, we had no idea where we were going. But we trusted that our GPS knew what it was doing (scary right?).

Okay, I’m going to branch off of that story because we eventually figured out our GPS problem. But this scenario got me thinking about life (because I tend to do that a lot) and how I can relate it to this situation. I have no idea where this road I’m walking is going to take me. I mean, I know my destination and maybe a little of the overall layout of the trip, but everything else is a mystery.

Having a GPS and not really being familiar with the route it’s using is a lot like the way Yahweh leads us. We go on our way, trusting that He knows exactly where He’s taking us. But it’s scary!

We have literally no control over the future, yet all we can do is trust in Someone we have never even seen.

The thing is, faith is stepping out into the unknown. I can plan out my life exactly how I want it to end. But that’s not how life works. Like a GPS we can plan out our route, but things can happen along the way that we can’t plan ahead for.

Proverbs 16:9 says that we can plan our way, but Yahweh establishes our steps. He knows what lies ahead, what sort of things we will encounter; He knows the twists and turns that we cannot see coming, and He warns us of those things. That’s why we have to pay attention to His voice so we won’t miss out on His plan, or perhaps even run into things that we could have avoided if we had been attentive.

I’ve learned that planning is the easy part, it’s the execution of the plans that is hard. This is only because I have no control over my life. That’s why it’s important to lay everything down and surrender it all to the One who is in control.

I’ve been through enough to know that His plans are 10 times better than anything I can imagine. He promises that what He has in store are for our good. But we have to trust Him in order to experience that peace and beauty in being in line with what He has for us. And that, my friends, is something I wouldn’t want to miss out on. You don’t want to miss it either.

Save

2 thoughts on “uncharted.

  1. Well that’s nice that something made you think of life. You stated the fact that you think of life quite often. But then it does not make this story any more special than whenever else you think about it. As if whenever something happens you tie it into a life lesson/story. Does not really make this story any different. Just a thought.

Leave a Comment

