stand firm

stand firm

 So then, my brothers, beloved and longed-for,
my joy and crown, stand firm in the Master, beloved.
Philippians 4:1

 

I’ve been reading so many scriptures lately that point to Standing Firm in the faith no matter what we face. You go back and look at all the people in the Scriptures, starting from Adam and Eve in the garden of Eden, and you can find lots of examples of people either failing or standing their ground when it came to their belief in Yahweh.

Up until today, people still struggle with this.

I am not going to list all the situations in the scripture and point out what it means to Stand Firm, but I’ll point out a few.

“Our Elah whom we serve is able to deliver

us from the burning furnace of fire and from your hand,

O sovereign – He does deliver!”

Daniel 3:17

This is taken from the story of Shadrak, Meshak and Abed-Nego, one that you probably have heard of many times. They were thrown into fire because they refused to bow to Nebuchadnezzar’s golden statue—because they stood firm.

Their courageousness became a witness

to the sovereign and a witness to us of

what happens when we trust Yahweh.

They did not waver. They trusted in Yahweh to protect them and it was because of this faith and trust that Yahweh saved them. Sometimes, Yahweh is just waiting to save us, but He wants to see if we’ll trust Him to before He does!

“My Elah has sent His messenger and has shut the lions’ mouths, and they did not harm me, because I was found innocent before Him. And also before you, O sovereign, I have done no harm.”

Daniel 6:22

This is taken from the time when Daniel was thrown into the lions’ den. Another test of faith and trust in Yahweh. Did he bite his nails and shrug his shoulders and say “well it wont hurt if compromised once…” No! He Stood Firm.

It was because he didn’t lose faith that Yahweh saved him. It was because he took that step, right into the pit of death that Yahweh chose to spare him. And it became a witness to the king of what Yahweh can do when His people obey Him.

Let me just say this…Standing Firm does not mean you’ll be spared from pain—that is part of this temporary life. What it does secure is a place in the everlasting Life ahead of us.

I can’t say I’ve mastered my faith, I’m still learning as many of us are. Which is why we are continually being tested. When I get tired, fearful or doubtful, I turn my eyes back to the reason why I am here right now—Yahweh put me here for His specific reason.

The choice is ours to take. Are we letting ourselves get caught up in what we don’t know, in how uncertain the future is, or are we looking at what we do know? Are we putting our lives in His hands, putting all our trust in the One who knows what we don’t?

It’s high time we examine ourselves because a time will come when all we have is our faith to hold onto. If we want to be counted worthy on the day of judgment…

we need to Stand Firm In the Faith.

2 thoughts on “stand firm

  1. Shabbat Shalom Jenna! Very well said….I am glad that you are such a dedicated servant
    & are spreading the Good News of His Kingdom. You speak right from the heart…. way to go Girl!
    Thanking you & appreciatively………
    Susana Malm

    1. Shabbat Shalom Ms. Susana!! Thank you! Only Yah can help this girl do what He wants me to do hehe. I pray that all is well with you! Miss you! :)

Leave a Comment

